Books by the Bundle

Hey friends, welcome back. I love to read that has already been established, and if there is one thing I love more than a single book, it’s a series of books. Getting to stay with characters for three or more novels just solidifies my love for them even more. Let’s just say I have some pretty epic story lines to share with you guys, in no particular order. I hope you enjoy.

 

Rizzoli and Isles (Tess Gerritsen)

R&I

Number of Books: 11, with the 12th coming in August of 2017

This series is based around a homicide detective (Jane Rizzoli) and a medical examiner (Maura Isles) in Boston. While this series was eventually turned into a television show on TNT, I highly recommend reading the novels. The two main characters are not only strong and highly intelligent in their own unique ways, but they’re also vulnerable and broken. For some reason, they work well together, and their relationship is as interesting and compelling as their own personal stories.

 

Women’s Murder Club (James Patterson)

1st to die

Number of Books: 15, with the 16th coming in May, 2017

A series centered around four female friends, all with jobs centered around the justice system. Detective Lindsey Boxer, Dr. Clare Washburn, crime reporter Cindy Thomas, and defense attorney Yuki Castellano (in the first four books Jill Bernhardt, a district attorney was the fourth member). These four friends meet for margaritas and discuss their jobs, which most of the time all center around the same case. Every book in this series kept me reading until late in the night, so beware of that.

 

Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling)

Harry Potter Bundle

Number of Books: 7

We have undoubtedly all heard of this series at some point or another, I mean it’s everywhere. The novels center around a young wizard and his faithful band of cohorts, as they navigate school and stand against the most feared dark wizard of all time. In the seven books, we journey with Harry through time at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, all while learning about his past and his fated future. If you’re interested in the fantasy genre and don’t mind a bit of YA, seriously read this series…you won’t regret it (and if you do just blame me!).

 

The Chronicles of Narnia (C.S. Lewis)

Narnia

Number of Books: 7

This is another series which most people have heard of, read, or at least seen The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. While the series does primarily center around Pevensie siblings, in the first book The Magicians Nephew you learn all about Narnia and how it came to be. These novels have it all, “far off places, daring sword fights, magic spells, a prince in disguise.” (Obviously, Belle is my favorite princess. Let’s be serious, have you seen that library?) If that doesn’t appeal to your inner childlike wonder I honestly don’t know what will.

 

Alex Cross (James Patterson)

Along Came a Spider

Number of Books: 24, but I’m sure more are coming

Are you seeing a pattern yet? I love a good mystery crime series. Dr. Alex Cross has a PH.D in psychology, concentrated in abnormal and forensic. Throughout the series, Alex struggles to find a balance between his work and his family. Again, this series has been made into movies, first starring Morgan Freeman (Along Came a Spider, and Kiss the Girls) later Tyler Perry (Alex Cross). I actually suggest watching these movies after you read the series, as far as adapted movies go they aren’t too bad.

 

Percy Jackson and the Olympians (Rick Riordan)

Percy Jackson

Number of Books: 5 (but there are I’d recommend any of his series)

I’m sure again that most of you have seen, or heard of this series. Percy is a teenager who finds out that he is a demigod, meaning one of his parents is a God. The books introduce us to Camp Half-Blood, which serves as a sort of training facility for demigods.  Throughout the books, Percy learns what it means to be a demigod, all while fighting against the forces of evil.

 

Inkheart (Cornelia Funke)

Inkheart

Number of Books: 3

Obviously, the shortest series in my list, but don’t let that fool you it’s still packed with all the right stuff. This story follows a girl named Meggie and her father Mo, who both possess a special gift. Once this gift is uncovered it’s a proverbial Pandora’s Box, and there is no way to undo what it does. This series was a suggestion from a woman working in the bookstore in my town and I’m glad I listened to her, I’ve read them numerous times and they never get old. (Side Note: skip the movie. I own it, and had high hopes for it, but alas I was let down.)

 

Well, there they are, seven of my absolute favorite series. If you read any of them, let me know what you think either way. Also, if you’ve got any suggestions let me know, I’d love to give them a shot. Until next time my friends….

Leave a Reply

