Woman Crush Wednesday…

Hiya friends, welcome back. First, let me apologize for how late this post is tonight, my stupid brain has been sabotaging me at every turn this week. In my personal life, some things have been going a little wonky, between the sabotaging brain and a few other things it took me a while to decide what to write. But, alas I caught a break and the brain gave me an idea. I bet you’re curious now so let me explain, in my life, I am surrounded by amazing people, half of which happen to be some tough as nails women. Between the women in my family and the women I am lucky enough to call my friends, I seriously know some real-life superheroes. So, in honor of them, I give you this, my version of Woman Crush Wednesday, some of my all-time favorite bad ass ladies. Enjoy my friends…

 

Hermione Granger

HP1

Yes, this is obviously where I start. Hermione, with her books and cleverness, is hands down one of the best female characters ever written. This witchy genius knows that the answer to any question can be found at the library, that just speaks to my soul. She’s a fierce friend, and not afraid to be herself even when being herself makes her the least popular person in the room.

 

Katniss Everdeen

The Hunger Games

The girl on fire. Who doesn’t like Katniss, even if Peeta and Gale can get a bit annoying (don’t judge me, they seriously annoyed me at some points). I mean she literally sacrifices herself for her sister, if that doesn’t make you bad ass I don’t know what does. She becomes the face of a rebellion and stands up to a corrupt system, all because people needed hope.

 

Elizabeth Bennet

Pride and Prejudice

Smart, strong, and mouthy. In this time women weren’t good for anything except to marry, yet Lizzie bucked against all of that. Yes, she eventually falls in love with the handsome Mr. Darcy, but until that point, she outright refuses to conform to what everyone thinks a woman should be. She speaks her mind and to me that is something that should be celebrated no matter what.

 

Dicey Tillerman

Homecoming

At 13 her mother abandons her and her siblings in a mall parking lot, and instead of waiting to be found and risk being split up into separate foster homes she decides their best bet is to walk to a cousin’s house. Throughout this book, Dicey becomes everything from a caregiver to a protector. I don’t know about you but at 13 I could barely take care of myself let alone three younger humans, that makes her bad ass in my book.

 

Arya Stark

Game of Thrones

I shouldn’t have to explain this one, but I will. She’s tough, smart, and witty as hell. Between you and I, I would not want to meet Arya in a dark alley with her trusty “Needle.” She’s a warrior and makes no excuses for it, she doesn’t want to be like Sansa and sew, she wants to fight like her brothers. Come on people, she’s epic!!

 

Well, there you have it friends, five seriously bad ass female characters who deserved some praise. If you lovely people have any to add let me know. Until next time…

Leave a Reply

